Searching for a Bandsaw - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 13 Old 03-16-2012, 12:42 PM Thread Starter

View SawdusttillSunset's Photo Album My Photos
Searching for a Bandsaw

Hi all, I am looking at purchasing a band saw, primary use would be for cutting around 4" thick pieces of wood, into creative looking boxes(jewelry boxes, "puzzle" boxes, etc.) Here and here are a few examples of what I am thinking.If at all possible, I would like to find a bandsaw under $300,that will fit my needs.
Any suggestions?
I am currently looking at the craftsman from sears, I've found alot of both positive, and negative reviews on it, and was wondering if anyone here had any personal experience with it.
I am new to woodworking, so any information,tips, or warnings, on anything regarding bandsaws, are greatly appreciated.
thanks in advance

Have thy tools ready. God will find thee work.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 03-16-2012, 12:50 PM

View Huxleywood's Photo Album My Photos
Not nearly enough HP for routine 4" thick cutting. There isn't really anything new out there that will be happy doing what you are asking on any regular basis, you can always suffer through the one off. I would look for one of the myriad of 14" cast iron saws often called Delta clones that are usually on Craig's List.

The one new option that I know of is the Harbor Freight 14: cast saw. Round up one of the 20% off coupons and it will be right at $300 out the door. It is by far not the best example of these types of saws but it will work but may take a little more tuning out of the box, but bandsaws are a tool that needs to be tuned. The key with any saw you get is throw away the blade that comes with it and buy a new quality blade from either a local industrial supply or one of the on-line ones like Spectrum Supply.
post #3 of 13 Old 03-16-2012, 04:14 PM Thread Starter