5Likes
  • 1 Post By Steve Neul
  • 2 Post By canarywood1
  • 1 Post By TimPa
  • 1 Post By Catpower

post #1 of 10 Old 04-24-2017, 05:30 PM Thread Starter

View Bubba Roberts's Photo Album My Photos
Sawstop or something

Getting ready to buy a new table saw. I have plenty of room for whatever. I am limited by single phase power. I rip plywood for cabinets 23" wide and then rip those peaces down to 36". Looking at 3hp sawstop. The sliders from grizzly won't rip down 8' sheets. I've been using a 1 1/2 hp jet for 18 years. I don't dado. Any suggestions.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 04-24-2017, 07:29 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
well, you don't need a 3 HP saw for plywood

However a 3 HP cabinet saw is a lifetime saw and will handle any and everything you'll ever need. You may change your mind about rabbets or dados unless you have a router jig for those. I like a sacrificial fence with a full stack of chippers for rabbets, there is nothing easier or faster.

When working plywood, you can't have a large enough table. It's difficult to support any sheet goods in 4ft X 8 ft. An outfeed support is a safety must! You don't want to be reaching around or over a spinning blade to retrieve any pieces.

As far as a recommendation for the saw itself, some here love their Saw Stops, others favor the 3 HP Grizzlys. There's a considerable difference in price, but I doubt if there is any difference in performance. So then the biggest difference is the "flesh sensing" safety feature. It will pay for itself many times over in the first trip to the ER. It may depend on your experience, but there are horror stories of experienced users getting too casual also.

If you have the money, then get the Saw Stop, it's a very good quality saw and I've seen them in person. You can't look back and say "I shoulda ..." :frown2: