Router Table for Beginning Woodworker? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 12Likes

post #1 of 24 Old 09-20-2019, 10:08 AM Thread Starter

View woodgeekess's Photo Album My Photos
Router Table for Beginning Woodworker?

Hi, I'm new to woodworking and need to setup a router table. I am going to mount it into my workbench with a homemade wooden fence.

I guess I should get a router lift right? Would a 2 1/4 hp router suffice or do I need to get the 3 HP one?

I was thinking of the Bosch 1617EVS router due to its good reviews on Amazon -- $169. And been looking at the $189 Jessem Rout-R-Lift II to accompany it. (I could 3D print the insert rings for it, so I could save money there -- someone has already made a SCAD file for it on Thingiverse.)

What do ya think? It would be definitely within my budget. It probably would only get occasional hobby use.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 Old 09-20-2019, 10:14 AM
Wood machinist

View difalkner's Photo Album My Photos
I use the 1617 and it's a great router - can't recommend it enough.

David
woodgeekess and ScubaDoog like this.

David

Curly Wood Shop on Etsy
David Falkner - Woodworking YouTube channel
Our music at church - current videos Airline Baptist BC Facebook Live
Romans 3:23
post #3 of 24 Old 09-20-2019, 02:23 PM

View _Ogre's Photo Album My Photos
i've used my "low $$$ router table" for 15 years with great results, cost me a few scraps of melamine
as for mounting it in your workbench... if this is your main workbench, look at all the stuff you have on it right now or during a project
it will need to be spotless clean every time you use it, low $$ router table mounts to my workbench, but off to the side
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	0911161343.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	338.9 KB
ID:	378953  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 24 Old 09-20-2019, 05:11 PM Thread Starter