Refurbishing cheap table saws - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By woodnthings

post #1 of 15 Old 04-10-2018, 05:57 AM Thread Starter

View Pyrix137's Photo Album My Photos
Refurbishing cheap table saws

Hello folks! This is my first post here, I'm just getting started into woodworking so i went shopping for some tools on a shoe string budget and, well long story short I purchased 2 ryobi rts22 table saws for $25 each. While I know ryobi are about basement level tools, it's what I can afford at the moment. As for the saws, the reason they were so cheap is that they both fell off the loading truck and bent the right hand sides of the tables down. I've managed to "negotiate" both tables back to "mostly" flat. My question to you is this:
Could I remove the damaged tops and replace them with an mdf, laminate counter, or maybe melamine top? I'm hoping to literally unbolt the old and drop on a new one, I figure to cut it a little larger and use blocks of wood to keep it squared while I reattach the saw and frame to the top. Replacing the top will not only give me a totally flat surface, but I'll route full miter slots in place of the pinched slots the ryobi tops have. Anyway, any input would be appreciated.

P.s. I am sure that many replies will recommend tossing these saws and buy something better. While I agree wholeheartedly with those sentiments, my funds are limiting me to what I have right now.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 04-10-2018, 06:47 AM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
sounds like a plan to me

Cheap table saws have been made from circular saws, so starting with 2 table saws is even better. I would use both saws under the same top, somewhat close together. This would allow for different settings and using a common fence, which you will need to make regardless.