recommended method for creating box and other wood joints - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 4 Old 12-26-2015, 03:00 PM Thread Starter

View jrcharvey's Photo Album My Photos
recommended method for creating box and other wood joints

I'm just getting into woodworking and consider myself a novice. I would like to have the tools (not to mention the expertise) to create box, dado, and maybe a few other types of joints for boxes and drawers.
To get my woodworking hobby of the ground, I bought a Dewalt 745 table saw. It's a great little saw for most things I want to do but I found out that it doesn't accept a stacked dado set. So here are the options that I see for resolving my problem:
  • Return the Dewalt 745 and get another saw. I'm considering the Dewalt DWE7491RS. This option seems straight forward but the 749 is more than twice the cost of what I paid for the 745. I'm not sure it is worth the extra money when other options for cutting joints could be available.
  • Buy a router--- which I plan to do for other work anyway-- to do the job. I'm not sure how good a job a router can do cutting joints or how easy it is to do.
  • Figure out an easy-ish way to create joints on the Dewalt 745, which, with my skill level, I haven't had much luck with so far. I've seen several videos online for creating box joints but they all use dado blades. I've come up with some improvised methods using a normal combination blade but I haven't been happy with the results so far. I just can't reliably make accurate cuts.

Any suggestions. Is there any thing I haven't thought of yet?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 12-26-2015, 03:34 PM

View FrankC's Photo Album My Photos
Either a table saw with a dado blade or a router mounted in a table will cut box joints no problem. The biggest hurdle is finding a jig that is accurate and easy to set up. Narrow boards are not nearly as critical as wider ones as any error tends to multiply the wider it gets.