Woodworking Talk banner

Query: Is it possible to slow down a bench grinder

14K views 44 replies 14 participants last post by  School Bully 
#1 · (Edited)
I inherited an old but very good condition, 1/3hp Baldor Model 612, two-wheel bench grinder from my late father. The motor, wired for 125VAC, runs at 3600 RPM, which for my personal use is way too fast. Half that speed would be much better.

Can anyone please advise me: (1) Is it possible and practical to reduce the speed of the motor without damaging it?

(2) How might I go about it?

I'm not an electrician but have some knowledge of electrical circuitry, can read simple schematics, and have built small projects over the years.

Thanks

Attachments

See less See more
#3 ·
Nope!

You can not change the speed of an induction motor using a "variable speed controller" as you would on a router which is an AC/DC brush type motor. Unless the motor has internal windings that allow for two speeds, you are out of luck. The standard RPMs for induction motors are 3450 and 1725 RPMs. However, bench grinders do come in both speeds. It is for this reason that I do not sharpen my plane blade or chisels on a 3450 RPM grinder, it gets the metal too hot too fast. I use a belt sander with a "belt drive" which I can change the speeds by moving the belt on a step pulley. A direct drive bench grinder has no such feature.

:|

Reactions: NoThankyou
#4 ·