Planer putting stripe on wood - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 05-08-2013, 03:14 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 11
View Midtone's Photo Album My Photos
Planer putting stripe on wood

I have a Dewalt 12 1/2" planer. It was working fine and then the other day it started putting this stripe down the length of the wood. the piece is still planed smooth, but there is a lighter colored 1/16" or so stripe down the length. Is there a chip in the blades? I can not perceive it when I look at them. Whats going on?
Midtone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 05-08-2013, 04:32 PM
Member
 
MrUnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: N. Central Florida
Posts: 55
View MrUnix's Photo Album My Photos
Is the stripe raised or just discolored? If raised, then you have a chipped blade. If discolored, then you might have hit something that left some type of residue on the blade that is being transfered to the wood. You can try wiping the blades down with some type of solvent (acetone, mineral spirits, etc..) and see if that helps. If it is a raised stripe, then you most likely have a chip in the same location on your blades.. to fix, you can try to offset one of the blades slightly to either side. Hard to determine exactly without actually seeing the problem.

Cheers,
Brad
MrUnix is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 05-08-2013, 07:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 25,995
View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
Sometimes you can get a chip of wood in the planer that will just rub a streak in the wood.
Steve Neul is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 Old 05-08-2013, 08:39 PM
Senior Member
 
BZawat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Wilkes-Barre, PA
Posts: 1,455
View BZawat's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Neul
Sometimes you can get a chip of wood in the planer that will just rub a streak in the wood.
That's what I was thinking Steve. Or perhaps stuck to one of the feed rollers?

Brian
BZawat is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 05-08-2013, 09:22 PM
Senior Member
 
fire65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 242
View fire65's Photo Album My Photos
All of the above is good advice. I will say if you do not run a dust collector on a planer you can get chips stuck in it that will affect the finish.
I always blow it out with air after ever few passes.
fire65 is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 05-09-2013, 07:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Waynesfield, OH
Posts: 1,510
View Fred Hargis's Photo Album My Photos
Nicks in the blade can sometimes be very hard to see. Much better way is to run something that's not your finger across the sharp edge, feeling for a snag.

"I long for the days when coke was a cola and a joint was a bad place to be" (Merle Haggard)
Fred Hargis is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 05-09-2013, 02:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Loganville, Georgia
Posts: 95
View Loganville Tiger's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midtone View Post
I have a Dewalt 12 1/2" planer. It was working fine and then the other day it started putting this stripe down the length of the wood. the piece is still planed smooth, but there is a lighter colored 1/16" or so stripe down the length. Is there a chip in the blades? I can not perceive it when I look at them. Whats going on?
Had the same thing on my Delta - I believe it is/was residue on the blade as there isn't a grove in the wood. Chaged blades and it has seemed to have cleared up - but haven't used it much since the change.

LT
Loganville Tiger is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 05-09-2013, 04:55 PM
Scotty D
 
mdntrdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: IL.
Posts: 4,479
View mdntrdr's Photo Album My Photos
A very hard knot can partially dull the knives in one area.

Scott
OH, wait a minute ............Yep!.............That's what he said!

"Like" us on facebook
www.ScottyDsWoodworks.com
Watch Our YouTube Video
mdntrdr is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 05-09-2013, 05:16 PM
where's my table saw?
 
woodnthings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE, Michigan
Posts: 26,990
View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
hmmmm

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdntrdr View Post
A very hard knot can partially dull the knives in one area.
I've knot had that happen and it's probably knot possible....just sayin'.... I'm just knot certain, however.

Maybe it was a stone or nail? Loosen one knife and slide it over 1/8" and see it that helps.

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
woodnthings is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 05-09-2013, 05:25 PM
Scotty D
 
mdntrdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: IL.
Posts: 4,479
View mdntrdr's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodnthings View Post
Loosen one knife and slide it over 1/8" and see it that helps.

I've seen it happen 1" wide... Slide that over.

Scott
OH, wait a minute ............Yep!.............That's what he said!

"Like" us on facebook
www.ScottyDsWoodworks.com
Watch Our YouTube Video
mdntrdr is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 05-09-2013, 05:33 PM
Old School
 
cabinetman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: So. Florida
Posts: 24,027
View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by BZawat View Post
Or perhaps stuck to one of the feed rollers?

Brian
+1. Could be some sap, or debris on the infeed or outfeed tables. If on a knife, it's usually cleared of pretty quick.





.
cabinetman is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I swear, I am putting at least 4-6 hours... Paul W Gillespie General Woodworking Discussion 11 08-26-2012 07:01 PM
Should I cut treads before putting on poly? wallslee Wood Finishing 3 07-11-2012 05:55 PM
putting up trim Woodworkingkid Trim Carpentry & Built-Ins 18 10-01-2011 02:20 PM
Putting up DC pipe in shop... beelzerob General Woodworking Discussion 16 01-05-2011 09:34 PM
Putting a wood floor on a garage shop? mwhals General Woodworking Discussion 20 04-26-2010 11:16 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome