Performax 10" table saw - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Christopher Nichols
  • 1 Post By Tool Agnostic

post #1 of 14 Old 06-03-2019, 03:10 PM Thread Starter

View Christopher Nichols's Photo Album My Photos
Performax 10" table saw

I'm new to wood working entirely and currently have not done much that requires ripping boards. Saving up for a good table saw but ran across a Performax 10" table saw on the FB Marketplace with stand for $50. Doesn't appear to have any safety features around the blade which concerns me as I have a 13 year old who is starting to get interested as well although I can simply do the table saw work for him entirely instead of helping him if I'm concerned with safety... although I like my own digits just as much as well. Question is this worth it? I don't want to have something that doesn't cut right or is going to be problematic, I'd rather save up for quality so is $50 worth the interim or too good to be true? I attached a picture of it as well.

I hesitate on used power tools with my rationale being I never know why one is selling something or how it was treated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	61602111_917685985259328_7012757484909625344_n.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	110.4 KB
ID:	376005  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 06-03-2019, 03:29 PM
RAM Man

View sweensdv's Photo Album My Photos
Considering that you can probably find a very nice used 1-1/2 HP contractor saw in the $250-$300 range I would put that $50 in the "saving up for fund". That saw would be alright for general construction type projects but only adequate for projects requiring more accuracy.

Dave

Life is like a roll of toilet paper.
The closer it gets to the end, the faster it goes.
post #3 of 14 Old 06-03-2019, 03:47 PM

View faith michel's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christopher Nichols View Post