old Delta motor question - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 11-29-2016, 04:35 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
terryh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 188
View terryh's Photo Album My Photos
old Delta motor question

I've got an old Delta 66-110 motor that was my dads and I'm guessing it's from the late 40's or early 50's. I also believe it's from either a 14" Delta bandsaw or a Delta bench style drill press, both of which I am still using. However, somewhere along the line my dad replaced the motors. I don't know whether the 66-110 was removed because it was burnt out or was replaced with something more powerful. Anyway, here's my problem. I would like to wire it up and see if it still works. The plate says 220V but there are only 3 wires so I'm assuming no ground, just a neutral. All three wires look the same (i.e. black) so I'm not sure how to hook it up to 220V or even 120V for that matter. Thoughts?
Attached Images
   
terryh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 11-29-2016, 05:01 PM
Village Idiot
 
epicfail48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Springfield MO
Posts: 4,576
View epicfail48's Photo Album My Photos
220 has 2 hots, no neutral. The reason that motor has 3 wires is because it's a 3 phase motor, which is probably why it's been replaced. 3 phase power isn't all too common, your dad probably swapped it with a single phase motor so he could use it in a residential setting without having to have the power company run a 3 phase line out

I need cheaper hobby
etsy.com/shop/projectepicfail
epicfail48 is online now  
post #3 of 8 Old 11-29-2016, 05:38 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
terryh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 188
View terryh's Photo Album My Photos
Thanks Epic. I don't know how I could have read the plate without noticing the 3 phase part. Your explanation makes perfect sense.

So now that the motor is of no use to me, does anybody want to buy a vintage 3 phase Delta motor?
terryh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 Old 11-29-2016, 06:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Pineknot_86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,756
View Pineknot_86's Photo Album My Photos
Make a great door stop, boat anchor, coffee table conversation piece. People will ask, "What in the world is that doing in the family room?" That is your cue to explain why it is there.

A diamond is how coal reacts under pressure.
Pineknot_86 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 11-29-2016, 06:12 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
terryh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 188
View terryh's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pineknot_86 View Post
Make a great door stop, boat anchor, coffee table conversation piece...........
I've got too many of those kinds of thing already. Just spent the last week trying to create some order in my shop, and it's amazing what one finds.
terryh is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 11-29-2016, 11:07 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
terryh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 188
View terryh's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by epicfail48 View Post
220 has 2 hots, no neutral...........
Agreed, sort of. What I meant was one +110V, a neutral, and a -110V.
terryh is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 11-30-2016, 04:53 AM
Village Idiot
 
epicfail48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Springfield MO
Posts: 4,576
View epicfail48's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by terryh View Post
So now that the motor is of no use to me, does anybody want to buy a vintage 3 phase Delta motor?
If it were 1/2 hp or above i would. Been looking for an opportunity to convert my drill press over to a vfd-run 3 phase

I need cheaper hobby
etsy.com/shop/projectepicfail
epicfail48 is online now  
post #8 of 8 Old 11-30-2016, 07:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 25,986
View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
There is no neutral on 220v single phase. The two hot wires since they are out of phase with each other will make a motor run. All that is needed is a ground wire to the body of the motor for safety.
Steve Neul is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Delta 36-725 Build Review - from a newbie jwyant Power Tools & Machinery 3 05-14-2016 07:18 AM
Delta JT360 Blades craigwbryant General Woodworking Discussion 3 05-10-2016 10:49 PM
Delta jointer stand needed wood45 Power Tools & Machinery 1 12-09-2015 06:30 AM
HELP on wiring for Delta Shaper X5 MarkF5 Power Tools & Machinery 5 11-27-2015 02:57 AM
Vtg Delta 39-750 table saw thoughts and concerns Radomire Power Tools & Machinery 4 10-09-2015 09:36 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome