Old Craftsman Table Saw Has Wobble - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 18 Old 01-21-2013, 01:21 PM Thread Starter

View Grandpa's old tools's Photo Album My Photos
Old Craftsman Table Saw Has Wobble

Hi everyone,

I'm just getting started with woodworking and I happened to find a table saw that a guy wanted out of his garage so he gave it to me for free. He said it worked fine the last time he used it but that was about 15 years ago and it's been kicked around in his garage since.

I put a blade on it and turned it by hand to see if the arbor was still straight and I noticed a little wobble in the blade. I was using a 5/8 arbor blade since I don't have any of the smaller arbor blades. You can see in the 2nd and 3rd pictures that there is something on the arbor that doesn't seem to let the blade sit flat/flush. Is this supposed to be there? I put the blade right up against this and then put on the washer and nut. Am I missing a piece?

I also noticed a little wobble in the arm that supports the arbor shaft as you can see in the last picture. The wobble is in the direction of the arrows.

So my questions: are these things that can be fixed to make the saw safe and is it worth the time/effort/money to do so? I'm not married to the saw but if it's a relatively simple fix, I'm all for it. I just want to make sure it safe! Otherwise, I'll start scanning Craigslist for a used table saw.

Thanks for your help
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Table Saw.jpg
Views:	8455
Size:	98.2 KB
ID:	60423  

Name:	Table Saw 3.jpg
Views:	2803
Size:	83.2 KB
ID:	60425  

Name:	Table Saw 4.jpg
Views:	3227
Size:	97.7 KB
ID:	60426  

Name:	Table Saw 2.jpg
Views:	1028
Size:	67.4 KB
ID:	60427  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 01-21-2013, 02:01 PM

View toolguy1000's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grandpa's old tools View Post
Hi everyone,