Woodworking Talk banner

Old Craftsman Radial Arm Saw

5K views 5 replies 6 participants last post by  woodnthings 
#1 ·
Hello out there, my first post on the site. I am a novice at carpentry and building things from wood, I am interested in going further now. A friend of mine just gave me an older Craftsman Radial Arm Saw, that was given to him. He really didn't need it as he has two already. I am looking for advice to help me decide if it's worth refurbishing. It is a gold color and has a key on top of the saw support bar to turn the motor on, of course the key didn't come with the saw. I am hoping this info gives a period of manufacture to somebody who has had one of these. There is quite a bit of surface rust to clean up on it and he suggest rewiring it, it also came with a jigsaw attachment if that helps. As heavy as it is, I am guessing it was a quality built product before our thro away society began. I like older things and would really like to bring it back to life if it's worth it. Also I have another question I will go ahead and ask, I was searching Craigslist here in Indianapolis for Table Saws, bunch of them out there, what do I stay away from and what do I give a serious look at. Thanks in advance for anyones time in helping me out. Mike.

#3 · (Edited)