Newbie needs suggesstion Tablesaw - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 16 Old 06-06-2009, 01:05 PM Thread Starter

View melsauto's Photo Album My Photos
Unhappy Newbie needs suggesstion Tablesaw

I am new to carpentry, have been an auto tech for 37 years.
I am thinking of going into carpentry as a hobbyist like to make things with my own hands.I am now 55 yrs old .

Which of these table saw is better:

JPS-10: 10'' ProShop 1-3/4HP 30'' CW Table Saw $999.00

The new JETģ ProShop Tablesaw features the details you've come to expect from a high end cabinet saw; in the compact design of a contractor-style saw. What ever your current or future shop needs, the ProShop 10" Tablesaw offers you the choice of a saw that will work for you for decades to come.

Powermatic Model 64A with extension table and 30'' Accu-Fence
$999.99EA

Thanks in advance for all your help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 06-06-2009, 01:26 PM

View knotscott's Photo Album My Photos
The PM64a is a traditional contractor saw with the motor hanging out the back. That's a 60 year old design with several problems associated with the motor location. 10 years ago, the PM64a would have been considered the best in that class, and may still be...however, the modern hybrid saw is essentially an evolution of the traditional contractor saw design. The hybrids basically move the motor inside the enclosure and eliminate many of the disadvantages of the contractor saw design. The hybrids offer a smaller footprint, better dust collection, a shorter drive belt (lower vibration and more efficient power transfer), more mass, and doesn't pose the lifting hazards that an outboard motor does when the motor is tilted. The design advantages of the hybrid are pretty much one sided unless you need to remove the motor frequently.