New planer maybe? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 14 Old 05-17-2012, 09:29 AM Thread Starter

View cjfrazee's Photo Album My Photos
New planer maybe?

I am thinking of adding a larger planer to my shop. Been comparing grizzly and powermatic in 20" size. Both with helical or spiral head. Other than price is there a substantial difference between the 2 machines?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 05-17-2012, 11:35 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
The way I would look at it is the Grizzly is hobby shop stuff and the powermatic is professional equipment. I've never used a planer with a spiral head so I won't comment there.
post #3 of 14 Old 05-18-2012, 12:15 AM

View bob sacamano's Photo Album My Photos
i used to subscribe to steves theory on the grizz being for hobbyists. till i bought one.

i got mine from a friend of a friend who went out of business.
a grizz 20inch heli head. its smoothe and i like it alot. i have no experience with the PM

build it right or not at all
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 14 Old 05-18-2012, 08:06 PM
Tool Fanactic

View WarnerConstInc.'s Photo Album My Photos
I wouldn't buy a new PM (or anything from that green bear), the new PM stuff is built cheaply, hold it, most new WW machinery is anymore.
post #5 of 14 Old 05-18-2012, 09:03 PM Thread Starter

View cjfrazee's Photo Album My Photos
If not pm or grizz... Is there one worth th coin you have to lay out to get it home?
post #6 of 14 Old 05-19-2012, 01:00 AM

View bob sacamano's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by WarnerConstInc. View Post
I wouldn't buy a new PM (or anything from that green bear), the new PM stuff is built cheaply, hold it, most new WW machinery is anymore.
so i imagine you wont be buying any new woodworking equipment ever again ??

build it right or not at all
The Following User Says Thank You to bob sacamano For This Useful Post:
vinnypatternmaker (05-19-2012)
post #7 of 14 Old 05-19-2012, 09:15 AM