New and looking for drill press recommendations - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By baserock love

post #1 of 6 Old 07-09-2020, 07:40 AM Thread Starter

View baserock love's Photo Album My Photos
New and looking for drill press recommendations

I'm just getting started and looking to spend about 150ish on a benchtop drill press. It will be mainly for wood so i'm not too hung up on power but I definitely want something as precise as i can get for that price with a platform i can adjust to get square to the chuck as several others i've looked at don't seem to have any way to do this. The few drills that get decent reviews have "Wobbly platform" pop up here and there on generally positive reviews. I want to make nice looking furniture, this isn't for normal diy or construction things.

Any recommendations? Was thinking one of these two as both generally have very positive reviews.

https://www.homedepot.com/p/RYOBI-10...E&gclsrc=aw.ds

https://www.lowes.com/pd/PORTER-CABL...ess/1000183105

Any help would be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 07-09-2020, 08:12 AM

View Alchymist's Photo Album My Photos
Be aware most bench type drills have short spindle travel - meaning you can only drill a hole so deep - the two you listed are about 2 to 2-1/4". But at$150 that's about all you will find.

Alexis de Tocqueville was a very smart man.
post #3 of 6 Old 07-09-2020, 08:37 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alchymist View Post
Be aware most bench type drills have short spindle travel - meaning you can only drill a hole so deep - the two you listed are about 2 to 2-1/4". But at$150 that's about all you will find.
That's fine, i don't see myself needing any more than that for some time. I mostly plan to just use it for some dowel joinery and drum sanding and drilling holes through probably at most 3/4 in thick hard woods.
Alchymist likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 6 Old 07-09-2020, 03:10 PM