Need instructions on how to use my thingy - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 12 Old 01-26-2008, 04:36 AM Thread Starter

View Johnathan Wilkinson's Photo Album My Photos
Post Need instructions on how to use my thingy

Hi,

I'm new to woodworking and the most complex piece of machinery I've ever used is a Bosch edger!
I'm thinking of buying a thickness planer or something similar but have absolutely no idea how to use one or what type I should buy.

Before you guys throw suggestions at me of specific brands, I must tell you that I'm in Indonesia and we simply DON'T usually have access to the same brands. Well, I suppose I could get it imported but it'd cost me the price plus 100% or more for import duties, so it'll probably be one made in Asia..... yes, even China!

What I'd like from you guys is the pros and cons of the basic machine types and what they can/can't do.

I have my eye on a machine -- it's a bench-type planer where the wood is moved over the cutting edges atop the machine. It also "appears" to have the function of passing a piece of timber through the machine, under the bench top, but with my poor level of Indonesian and the shop assistants complete lack of knowledge -- I'm not certain if I am right in my guesswork.

I'll be using it for tidying up rough timbers for general furniture... nothing too big... maybe 4x6'' or a tad bigger on occasion(?)

Love to hear your input... or even links to websites that describe how to use these types of machines.

J

Don't force it! Use a bigger hammer.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 01-26-2008, 09:21 AM

View Nine Fingers's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnathan Wilkinson View Post