Need advice: Dewalt DW746 or Jet JWTS-10 - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 09-20-2015, 10:11 PM Thread Starter

View Neophyte's Photo Album My Photos
Need advice: Dewalt DW746 or Jet JWTS-10

Friends,
I have found valuable information on both of these saws in the forums but I would like some advice. Please bear with me, I am very new to this. I found them on CL in the NY/NJ area. Both are same price: $350. Dewalt: factory fence, miter gauge, two extra inserts, two additional blades. Jet: jet-fence, miter gauge, two additional blades. condition is very good for both but Dewalt has some rust on the iron top that suggests pitting (rough to the touch) and would have to clean to figure out. Dewalt has been used more, Jet less. The owner of the Jet will also throw in: Skil router, Ryobi plane jointer, clamps and some other tools for an additional $150.
My purpose: I have been refinishing furniture and want to get into building closets for my house, cabinets and so forth. After looking for a used TS for 2 months I have concluded that the most important issues for me are an accurate fence, ease of alignment, dado capabilities and dust control. I cannot fit a larger saw in my garage. I need the additional tools and would go for the Jet but I really liked the Dewalt.

Any thoughts or ideas?
All comments appreciated.
Thanks

Marc, NY
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 09-21-2015, 03:56 AM

View 44260's Photo Album My Photos