Woodworking Talk banner

Modifying my table saw dilemma.

9K views 17 replies 7 participants last post by  Jeekinz 
#1 ·
I was reading a post where Bill (woodnthings) mentioned the he “ended up ditching the whole cabinet base” and it got me thinking again about an idea I’ve been playing with for about 5 years now. I also read quite a lot of posts were people have acquired equipment that was missing parts, which brings me to my dilemma.
I have a Craftsman 10” table saw with the standard base. I was too cheap to buy a wheel set and just happened to have a homemade dolly made out of angle iron that fit like it had been made for it. I never much liked the base and have been thinking about removing it all together. I want the base to be more practical shaped with storage drawers and larger wheels.
The only thing that holds me back is the resale value if I ever decide to sell it for a newer one. It’s in very good shape, over 10 years old but looks like new and has everything that originally came with it except for the box. I’ve bought stuff in the past that was missing necessary parts and it always irritated me when things like manuals, accessories or other necessary items are missing. I’ve always made sure that I keep all the original parts to pass on. I understand that parts get broken or sometimes lost, but at least I try.
I’m storing so many parts as it is that I just don’t want to store anymore stuff and the cabinet base takes up a lot of room. So now I’m trying to think of a way to incorporate the existing base into something more usable. Maybe I could make it wider with drawers on each side and something in the middle.
Any Ideas?

See less See more
#3 ·
They flare out on the bottom with a shelf as a support and that’s the main problem. I would prefer a box shape, but I can maybe build the drawers with one side angled. I just don’t know what I’d put in such a drawer unless it was big enough to store jigs and such.