Miter saw recommendations - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By John Smith_inFL
  • 2 Post By NoThankyou

post #1 of 14 Old 11-20-2019, 12:21 PM Thread Starter

View ChuckBarnett's Photo Album My Photos
Miter saw recommendations

My son wants to get into making picture frames for his wife's paintings. Asking me about a recommendation of a reliably accurate miter saw. Thus, I am asking you! :-)

Thank you, in advance!

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 11-20-2019, 02:54 PM

View John Smith_inFL's Photo Album My Photos
I used to have one of those big heavy cast iron guillotine miter cutters
and it gave me the finest cut and tightest fit I could ask for.
depends on your budget and anticipated usage.

GeorgeC likes this.

-- I am a painter. That's what I do. I paint things --
The Following User Says Thank You to John Smith_inFL For This Useful Post:
ChuckBarnett (11-21-2019)
post #3 of 14 Old 11-20-2019, 03:35 PM

View FrankC's Photo Album My Photos
Cutting miter joints for picture frames is often more a matter of technique than the saw. If the saw cuts a true 45 then it is just a matter of making the opposite sides exactly the same length.
To get a true 45 the board has to be held so that it does not creep as the cut is being made, either by a clamp or non slip material on the base.
It is best to use a stop to make sure both sides are the cut at the same length.

Some bargain sliding miter saws are not rigid enough to make accurate cuts, if you don't have a quality saw then use your table saw. Use a sled or have a method to prevent the board from creeping if you use the bevel gauge.

Don't fall into the trap of thinking that as long as the two cuts equal 90 degrees you will be okay, that does not work well.

As John says a proper guillotine will be the ultimate solution.

Wise men speak because they have something to say; fools because they have to say something -Plato

FrankC