Miter saw or portable table saw? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 20 Old 04-22-2018, 12:33 PM Thread Starter

View Gus64's Photo Album My Photos
Miter saw or portable table saw?

Hello everyone, great forums here and your advice has helped a lot in the past!

I am a beginner who has made a few small projects and I'm considering buying either a miter saw or portable table saw: I use our woodshop at work to cut a lot of my wood for my projects and would like to be able to do that at home. Been using the chop saw for cutting 1x2s, 2x4s. I have rarely used the table saw and have resorted to my circular saw and straight edge to cut small boards. Anyway, I do have limited space and thought a portable table saw may be more versital because I can cut flat boards as well as cut 2x4s? Any thoughts are appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 04-22-2018, 01:38 PM

View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
Comparing a table saw and a miter saw is like comparing apples and oranges. They are at their best when doing two different functions.

A table saw can do most of what a miter saw does, just takes a little more effort and time.

A good portable saw will do most if not all a table saw will do. Just have to take a little more time in being sure you have it set up properly. I have a good friend who used to have a complete shop setup in his garage. He made many beautiful pieces of furniture. Then as he made moves dictated by his AF career he had to downsize. He now has a portable table saw and still does beautiful work.

The quality of your work is subject not as much to the quality of your equipment, but how you use that equipment.

That is a lot of words to say I would get the portable saw.

George
post #3 of 20 Old 04-22-2018, 01:40 PM
Corey

View southern_leo's Photo Album My Photos