Looking to purchase my first few power tools - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 08-10-2015, 10:21 PM Thread Starter

View tc_firefighter311's Photo Album My Photos
Looking to purchase my first few power tools

Hello I have been lurking on the out side for awhile now. I'm looking to buy my first few power tools. I have general idea on how everything works. I have built a cedar door and a pedestal out of oak for washer and dryer. But now I'm looking for the right tools. Looking to build a closet organizer for our huge walk in closet. Then cabinets for our two bathrooms and maybe cabinets for the kitchen. But I'm still a rookie at this. I want to buy quality tools not quantity. I have a $1000 dollar budget to start off. What you you buy. I own drills and a majority of the smaller stuff. I own a craftsman 10" table saw. A good skill saw the 30x50 shop. What would you buy
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 08-10-2015, 10:43 PM

View Toolman50's Photo Album My Photos
TC
It sounds like you're well on your way with a table saw.
It has been posted many times on this forum that the best advice is to choose a project and let the project guide you to what additional tools you need to complete. There is no immediate need to go load up on a bunch of tools. Buy what you need as you need it. Try to buy good quality stuff, not necessarily the most expensive. With a good table saw, one of your major purchases has been made. You can make a lot of stuff with just a TS.
Welcome to this woodworking forum.
post #3 of 9 Old 08-10-2015, 10:51 PM

View hwebb99's Photo Album My Photos
Cabinets are a pretty advanced project if you want raised panel doors. I would buy a jointer, planer, router table, and a bunch of clamps in that order. You won't be able to get it all for $1000.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 Old 08-11-2015, 08:30 AM

View woodchux's Photo Album My Photos