Left tilt or regular? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 19 Old 04-26-2008, 06:58 AM Thread Starter

View arthur dent's Photo Album My Photos
Left tilt or regular?

Hi- I'm a relative newbie woodworker and am looking to replace my current table saw with a new one. I see left tilt saws advertised and am wondering what advantage a left tilit saw would have over a regular saw. Can anyone fill me in on the pros and cons?
Regards,
AD
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 04-26-2008, 07:38 AM
Suz

View Suz's Photo Album My Photos
I'll warn you right now that you will be bombarded with people saying that a left tilt is the "regular" saw and not the right tilt. Plus lets make sure you are not confused on which direction the blade tilts. (Many people are!) A good fast way to tell is if the tilt crank is on the left side of the saw it is a right tilt saw, if the crank is on the right then the saw is a left tilt.
Having said that the biggest reason that they will say a left tilt is better is it being safer to make bevel rip cuts. With a right tilt saw (the blade tilts towards the fence) there is a danger of kickback from trapping the wood between the blade and fence. Whereas with a left tilt saw the wood falls away from the blade and will not kick back at you.
But, because most of the cuts are made with the blade at 90 degrees and the fence can be put on the left side of the blade that factor doesn't enter into the picture as much.
One advantage of a right tilt saw is that no matter what thickness blade you mount on the saw the fence guide will always be accurate because it is measured off the right side of the blade.
A minor point is that the arbor nut turns in opposite directions on the two saws.
IMHO I would advise you getting a new saw that tilts in the same direction as the one you have now.

BTW, I've got a right tilt saw with a slider on the left side.

Jim
post #3 of 19 Old 04-26-2008, 10:58 AM

View daryl in nanoose's Photo Album My Photos