Lathe 'play' along spindle axis - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 02-19-2019, 02:25 PM Thread Starter

View Reinout's Photo Album My Photos
Unhappy Lathe 'play' along spindle axis

Hi,

I'm new to woodturning and I picked up a really cheap second hand lathe. I figured that using this lathe for the first few projects would give me a good idea as of what I need in a lathe if I want to go further with it.
Meanwhile I'll invest in some attachments along the way which I can keep when I upgrade.

Now the lathe that I bought looks like a DIY model, it's old and if has a few broken parts...

Anway I wanted to ask...
The lathe's headstock spindle can move along the axis, and I trying to figure out if this is normal.
On the one hand I would thing that since the motor spins the belt and thus the spindle it will even out and allow it to correct itself. On the other hand I think it's not normal since if you use a tailstock center you would put a little pressure on it and make the belt go sideways.

To clearify the problem I uploaded a film to youtube demonstrating my problem:

I'm using a hammer to move it since it was a little akward with a camera in one hand. But I can move it by hand fairly easy if i apply a little pressure.

I don't see how it would be prevented from spinning. On each side of the headstock there are threaded holes but they match no holes in the spindle so other than 'clamping' to the spindle I see no way to secure it. (see photos)

A couple of questions that I have:

Is it normal that the spindle can move that way?
If so, how should I solve this?

Right now i'm suspecting that there should be bolts in the holes as show on the photos. I guess they went missing at the previous owner.

Hoping someone can give me some hits.
Thank you a lot already!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0663.jpg (225.0 KB, 46 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0664.jpg (301.5 KB, 52 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0665.jpg (259.7 KB, 73 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement