Jointer wiring question - Page 3 - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #41 of 51 Old 12-17-2007, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: West Chester Pa.
Posts: 569
View bigredc's Photo Album My Photos
bigredc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42 of 51 Old 12-17-2007, 08:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: West Chester Pa.
Posts: 569
View bigredc's Photo Album My Photos
When it's not spinning the switch holds these contacts closed. After it gets spinning it releases the contacts.
bigredc is offline  
post #43 of 51 Old 12-17-2007, 08:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: West Chester Pa.
Posts: 569
View bigredc's Photo Album My Photos
bigredc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44 of 51 Old 12-17-2007, 08:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: West Chester Pa.
Posts: 569
View bigredc's Photo Album My Photos
If you feeling brave maybe you can take yours apart. It might be something simple.

Last edited by bigredc; 12-17-2007 at 08:14 AM.
bigredc is offline  
post #45 of 51 Old 12-17-2007, 11:18 AM Thread Starter
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 40
View BradleyB's Photo Album My Photos
many thanks - I'm going to see how it works wired to 240 before I break into it. When I have a minute. The Christmas season is wreaking havoc with my shop time!
BradleyB is offline  
post #46 of 51 Old 12-19-2007, 10:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: West Chester Pa.
Posts: 569
View bigredc's Photo Album My Photos
I'm going away for 2-3 weeks to visit relatves in Georgia and Fla. for the holidays. I might not be able to check in till Jan. Good luck with the jointer. If I have time I'll check in on my brothers computer.
bigredc is offline  
post #47 of 51 Old 12-19-2007, 08:58 PM Thread Starter
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 40
View BradleyB's Photo Album My Photos
Have fun with the relatives. I hear Georgia is beautiful.

I'm waiting on a buddy of mine who works in construction who told me he could rustle up some 6-3 wire so I can run 60 amps out to the garage. We'll see.
BradleyB is offline  
post #48 of 51 Old 12-29-2007, 09:44 AM Thread Starter
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 40
View BradleyB's Photo Album My Photos
Quick update

Right, well, I feel a bit sheepish now.

I just spent almost $400 (Canadian so that would be...er...$400 US)on wire, breakers etc. so I can run a 60amp pony panel out to the garage. I have two 15 amp ciruits out there right now that are not well marked in my electrical panel so, to find the correct breakers to disconnect, I thought I would fire up the jointer and pop the breakers (so I could spot them easily). Well, wouldn't you know it, the jointer ran fine! Purred away! It's a bit warmer than when I first tried it...maybe I knocked away some gunk while I was fiddling around with the motor?

Also, now that it's working, I read the manual cover to cover and found a wiring diagram (in my own defense, it's placed in an odd spot and not listed in the contents.)

Regardless, I now have puh-lenty of power out there (240 and otherwise) and now my wife can fire up her 40amp kiln...so...she's happy (She's a ceramics artist - you and I would call her a potter).

Thanks for all your help bigredC! I'm off to make some sawdust.
BradleyB is offline  
post #49 of 51 Old 12-30-2007, 01:23 AM
Hacker of wood
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Highlands, NJ
Posts: 90
View TomD's Photo Album My Photos
Money spent on the electrical upgrade will be money well spent. As someone wiser that myself has proclaimed, "Happy wife; Happy life."

Tom
TomD is offline  
post #50 of 51 Old 12-30-2007, 12:35 PM Thread Starter
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 40
View BradleyB's Photo Album My Photos
"If Momma ain't happy ain't no one happy!"
BradleyB is offline  
post #51 of 51 Old 12-31-2007, 07:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: West Chester Pa.
Posts: 569
View bigredc's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome to my world. I don't do a lot of industrial service calls anymore, but in the past I have worked on stuff for hours, not found anything wrong, with the customer breathing down my back. Then all of a sudden the machine starts working again. Do I tell the customer, i don't have a clue what i did, or do I puff out my chest and write up the bill. I did the first once or twice then I got good at making up reasons how I fixed it. Anyway good luck, glad I could help. You'll use that electric down the road. You never have to much juice.
bigredc is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
another PITA jointer question.... smitty1967 Power Tools & Machinery 7 10-14-2008 02:43 PM
Jointer Question alambert Joinery 14 05-22-2008 12:59 AM
Jointer question.... clarionflyer General Woodworking Discussion 10 04-29-2008 10:58 AM
craftsman 6 1/8 jointer wiring BradleyB General Woodworking Discussion 7 12-13-2007 07:03 PM
Powermatic 3520b wiring question gervmn Woodturning 2 10-26-2007 12:18 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome