Jointer + planer or new jointer/planer combo... - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 01-03-2009, 10:32 AM Thread Starter

View centex99's Photo Album My Photos
Jointer + planer or new jointer/planer combo...

I was looking at buying a 6" jointer and a 121/2-13" planer... I'm just starting out and wanting to eventually be able to build furniture quality and other nicknacks (cutting boards,etc).
I'm looking at a used Delta JT-360 and a used Delta 22-580... combined I can get those or something similiar (good steal jointer + benchtop planer) for ~$500.
Though, in a few weeks, I'd be able to get a new jet unit that is a combo planer/jointer... 10" for both new for ~400.
The model is JJP-10BTOS. They also sell an 8" version for less.
Whats a better route? I'm thinking quality might be a bit better on the 6" jointer, but the benefit of 8 or 10" jointer may be useful in the future... plus is there much of a need for a larger jointer versus planer...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 01-03-2009, 01:06 PM

View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
I do not know anything about the units you are looking at.

However, I have just never been a fan of combination units. There just seem to be too many compromises.

George
post #3 of 9 Old 01-03-2009, 02:52 PM

View LGC KX5 TC's Photo Album My Photos
what is your shop space like. If you have room for two units that is usally what most people would do. If you are tight on space go for a combo unit. The are good units just combined and takes time to change over usually. There are also bigger models available like this one

http://www.rockler.com/product.cfm?page=19798

Though with the bigger size comes a bigger price about $2,000. If i were you i would base it off of how much room you have.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 Old 01-03-2009, 03:10 PM Thread Starter