Jet Tablesaw- 120 to 220, less power now??? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 26 Old 12-18-2007, 08:21 PM Thread Starter

View nitro3421's Photo Album My Photos
Jet Tablesaw- 120 to 220, less power now???

I just converted my Jet contractors special edition table saw from factory 120 to 220 using the provided wiring diagram (it was a little funky because in the diagram there were 4 posts and in reality there were only 3 so i put the wires from the 3rd and 4th in the picture all on the 3rd) Anyways, i fire it up and I have significantly less power now. Any suggestions on how to fix this/why this would happen?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 Old 12-19-2007, 08:42 AM

View Buffalo Bilious's Photo Album My Photos
I'd guess that it has to do with the two wires that you put on the single post, but that's a pure guess.

Personally, I'm not an electrician, so if it was my saw, I'd have a simple equation to deal with this issue:

(4 wires + 3 posts) - power loss
(unclear instructions) x 220 volts = Call Jet Customer Service ASAP!

Last edited by Buffalo Bilious; 12-19-2007 at 08:50 AM.
post #3 of 26 Old 12-19-2007, 11:24 AM
Forgotten but not gone

View TexasTimbers's Photo Album My Photos
Show me a picture and I can probably help you. Otherwise call JET and ask. Their phone tech support number is 1.800.274.6846 and they answer it from 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. CST
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 26 Old 12-19-2007, 02:18 PM Thread Starter

Thanks for the replys. Here are some pictures. THe first is the wiring diagram:

The next 3 photos are how it originally was, 115 volts:

The final picture here shows it how i rewired it: [keep in mind i tried both putting the 2 wires on the middle post on the same screw and on top/bottom screws(how it is in the picture) and had the same result]

Thanks in advance!!!!

Last edited by nitro3421; 12-19-2007 at 02:23 PM.
post #5 of 26 Old 12-19-2007, 02:49 PM

View Buffalo Bilious's Photo Album My Photos