Idiot Proof Squaring Table Saw Fence, Blade, and Mitre Guage - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 13Likes
  • 3 Post By Maylar
  • 1 Post By Steve Neul
  • 1 Post By FrankC
  • 1 Post By TomCT2
  • 1 Post By FrankC
  • 1 Post By woodnthings
  • 2 Post By DesertRatTom
  • 1 Post By FrankC
  • 1 Post By Tool Agnostic
  • 1 Post By Show Soogie Bam

post #1 of 17 Old 01-03-2019, 02:36 PM Thread Starter

View Show Soogie Bam's Photo Album My Photos
Question Idiot Proof Squaring Table Saw Fence, Blade, and Mitre Guage

Hello long time lurker first time poster.

As the topic says, I need to square a fence, blade, and mitre guage. I have read some forum posts and watched howtos but after trying a bunch of things, I still have some questions.

This shouldn't be so hard but some things may be complicating it for me:

1) I'm new to this
2) I'm using a DEWALT DWE7491RS - most of the edges are beveled which is making me second guess my readings and very hard to square using T slots. Just straight measuring from a slot edge to the blade flat or a tooth seems to be off the table.
3) I watched a video that said not all squares you buy in the stores these days are actually square. I only have one and I've been using it to try to figure things out but now I'm wondering if it's not even square. I lined it up against some bulky factory-made square things and it actually seems like it might be slightly off. I'm guessing I should invest in a square I have more confidence in.
4) the mitre guage is an Incra 1000SE. The face plate is actually grooved, which doesn't make it easy to measure/see gaps.

Under those circumstances, how should a fool like me go about a precise, triple square job?

So far I've tried: a) using square at both ends of blade flat pressed against fence and the same again using 1 tooth method. It's off but is it my square or the blade/fence?