I’m sure this isn’t right! - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 4Likes
  • 2 Post By AwesomeOpossum74
  • 1 Post By woodnthings
  • 1 Post By Larry Schweitzer

post #1 of 15 Old 01-26-2020, 05:34 AM Thread Starter

View me_Jenna's Photo Album My Photos
I’m sure this isn’t right!

I recently bought a Miter saw.. I am quite new to woodworking so have never owned one before.. I watched videos on how to use it as it just wasn’t as smooth as the videos said.. I took the fence off and assuming my table is flat, it should sit flat.. Shouldn’t it?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1580034788490.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	204.7 KB
ID:	384021  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 01-26-2020, 06:30 AM

View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
I do not know at what I am looking. The fence on a miter saw is not one piece.

Please provide a picture of everything assembled.

George
post #3 of 15 Old 01-26-2020, 09:45 AM

View AwesomeOpossum74's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome to the forum, @me_Jenna.

Quote:
Originally Posted by me_Jenna View Post
I recently bought a Miter saw.. I am quite new to woodworking so have never owned one before ... I took the fence off and assuming my table is flat, it should sit flat.. Shouldn’t it?
Molded plastic often doesn't sit flat when not held down. This goes for a lot of plastic uses, not just miter saws. I'm guessing this piece sits flat enough once it's affixed to the table.

Quote:
...I watched videos on how to use it as it just wasn’t as smooth as the videos said...
You watched a video from someone who's probably a professional, right? They have a professionally sharpened saw, and have experience using it. So many videos make little tasks look so easy. Don't fret about it. The more you use your saw, the better you'll get.
Tony B and John Smith_inFL like this.

Geoff
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 15 Old 01-26-2020, 10:24 AM

View gmercer_48083's Photo Album My Photos