Grizzly PowerTools - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 05-26-2011, 06:07 PM Thread Starter

View Kenika59's Photo Album My Photos
Send a message via Yahoo to Kenika59 Send a message via Skype™ to Kenika59
Grizzly PowerTools

I am new to woodworking & would like to start a small shop.
I've been looking at Jet, Powermatic & Grizzly for a Jointer, Planer, Band Saw, Lathe & Drum Sander.
It appears IMO that I get much more for the money going with Grizzly.
It will cost a lot more for the same equipment (matching size, HP, blades etc) for Jet or Powermatic.
Why are the prices so much higher for Jet & Powermatic?
What are your thoughts?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 05-26-2011, 06:39 PM

View duncsuss's Photo Album My Photos
my belief - Grizzly import and sell directly to the public; the other brands are imported (maybe from the same factories in China!) but then sold through dealer & distributor channels. Everyone in the chain of delivery has to make a profit.

Please visit my website, Fruit of the Lathe
post #3 of 7 Old 05-26-2011, 08:08 PM

View knotscott's Photo Album My Photos
It's hard to generalize about all Grizzly tools, but depending on which machines you compare, there are some legitimate cost savings by going with Grizzly if you're comfortable being your own middle man if there's an issue. Dealers often intervene on your behalf for that service, but charge a premium for it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 Old 05-26-2011, 08:39 PM
The Young Blood

View Locodcdude's Photo Album My Photos
From what I hear, Grizzly will ship directly to you, instead of the middle man that gets a cut of the loot as well. You're paying for the tool when you buy Grizzly. Powermatic and Jet you are paying the middle man's salary, and the tool. I'm a big fan of Grizzly tools and I think you get more for your dollar than at any other company. Notice that Powermatic only sells to distributors, not a private home shop.