Is this a good deal or worth buying - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 01-25-2012, 09:04 AM Thread Starter

View chsdiyer's Photo Album My Photos
Is this a good deal or worth buying

I am new to wood working and only have a smaller table saw, a new router w/table, and a mitre saw. I am going to be building a vanity and kitchen cabinets in the near future so i'm thinking i could use some more tools for those projects.

I've been reading about using my router table for a jointer and getting decent results that way so maybe I dont really need a jointer (and that one seems to have lesser reviews), and then I dont "really" have a need for the scroll saw at the moment. Of course i'll be the first to admit I don't know much about what all I should have and what are good tools, so i'm wondering if this is a good package deal, or should I just invest more in getting a nicer planer for now? The delta one seems to have decent reviews but not all that great.
http://charleston.craigslist.org/tls/2815405879.html
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 01-25-2012, 09:39 AM

View troyd1976's Photo Album My Photos
Send a message via AIM to troyd1976
typically i believe rule of thumb is used value on equipment is around 1/2 of the original retail. in my book, mind you I'm no expert on those specific machines but id pass or talk him down a bit.
also another thing to look at is that jointer, while is usable, alot of WW whom start with bench top models find themselves upgrading down the road to the floor models with larger in/out-feed tables to get better results. if your one of these folks you might be money ahead to get the non bench version.
also something that bares mentioning on the jointer front, beings you have a router table is that you can place a piece of Formica on your out-feed end of the table fence, set a straight cutting router bit of good quality even with that and use your router table as a jointer.
post #3 of 6 Old 01-25-2012, 09:44 AM