Fixing up an old Rockwell Contractor's Saw/Jointer combo - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 05-31-2015, 07:00 PM Thread Starter

View fornax's Photo Album My Photos
Fixing up an old Rockwell Contractor's Saw/Jointer combo

Hi folks. I'm looking for advice on fixing up and using some machinery I was recently gifted. A bit about me... I'm new to the craft. Though I have an engineering background (electrical), the only hands-on mechanical experience I really have is from a manufacturing processes class and lab in college. I've been an apartment dweller most of my adult life, but have recently moved out to the country. Now that I've got some space, I've been thinking about getting into woodworking. It was a medium-term future thing until the recent gift. Now I suddenly find myself pretty well equipped, but the stuff needs some TLC.

This thread is going to be about a Rockwell 9" Contractor's Saw/4" Jointer combination. It was used heavily (at least the saw) in the 70s to build the previous owner's home, but has seen only sporadic use in recent decades. I'm not too concerned about the jointer right now (there's a nicer jointer attached to a planer on another piece) and might even remove it if possible. Here's a couple of pics:

Name:  sm_DSC_0071.JPG
Views: 3467
Size:  136.5 KB

Name:  sm_DSC_0074.JPG
Views: 1760
Size:  112.8 KB

Name:  sm_DSC_0076.JPG
Views: 2029
Size:  102.1 KB

I haven't had any luck tracking down any sort of manual for this.

The top was rather rusty (as the jointer still is). I took a wire wheel to the fence rails and miter gauge slots, and an RO sander to the top surface and fence face. I finished it off with a hand rub of 600 grit and a couple coats of paste wax. It's nice and slick now, and I've already used it to cut a few shelves.