First table saw, I'm totally lost - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 19Likes

post #1 of 28 Old 09-17-2017, 11:14 PM Thread Starter

View charlo489's Photo Album My Photos
First table saw, I'm totally lost

Ok I've been wanting a table saw for 10 years now. I'm 30 and I'm tired of waiting. Thing is, I don't have 3000$ to drop on a high end saw. This leaves me with 3 options and I don't know what to do

1) used :I've been checking the used market a lot for the past 3-4 years and while I can certainly find a few delta unisaws and general, most don't have a guard or a riving knive. I'm a pilot and can't afford to lose my fingers so I guess a riving knive is a must ?

2) buying a 800-1000$ brand new saw. I was looking at the ridgid 4512 or the steel city 45925G-A36, both are the same price here and I prefer the steel city for it's granite table top and sturdy looking build. However, I've read extensively on both saws and obviously, they are far from perfect and many have returned both of them. I am aware that these returns don't represent the majority but still...

3) wait until I get more cash and get a sawstop. This option is cool but at the same time, having to wait a few more years does suck, I'm putting aside many projects because I don't have a table saw or even a circular saw !

Should I favor the 1000$ table saw with a riving knive or get an old 350 or unisaw ? I'm not making a living out of furniture making but I do want a table saw that will make a clean, straight cut. Is it possible to achieve that with a simple ridgid or steel city ?

Thanks for your input, much appreciated !
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 28 Old 09-17-2017, 11:56 PM

View Ruth P's Photo Album My Photos
Hi Charlo489,