Drillpress chisel mortiser experience - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 04-24-2019, 07:46 PM Thread Starter

View Ephraim's Photo Album My Photos
Drillpress chisel mortiser experience

Years ago I got a Delta DP mortising attachment, tried it out with fresh chisels; got poor results and put it away. I was a newbie at the time but now have a few more hours in the workshop, so am wondering if I should give it another go. The word is that DP mortisers don't work very well. Just curious to hear of good experiences.
Thanks in advance. Fred
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 04-24-2019, 08:02 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
I can't speak to the DP attachment .....

However, I do own a very nice 3/4 HP Powermatic Hollow chisel mortiser, at the top of the tool reviews. I too was not impressed with my first trial run. I had the bit to chisel offset wrong and that was part of the problem. I didn't realize how much force you had to apply on the handle for the first mortise. Succeeding mortises that overlapped the first one were much easier, since only a portion of the material was being was removed at each pass.

I would suggest watching several You Tubes on the process to get more info. The weakness of the drill press attachment is the lack of power in the down feed quill assembly because of the smaller rack and pinion and the shorter handle. You may not have any of those issues ... I donno?

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
post #3 of 8 Old 04-24-2019, 09:04 PM

View FrankC's Photo Album My Photos
Watching videos or my opinion is not going to effect how your attachment works on your drill press, put it back on and try it out, it may work to your satisfaction or not, at least you will know.