Drill Press Problems - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 09-18-2013, 02:21 AM Thread Starter

View KidHookah's Photo Album My Photos
Drill Press Problems

SO, I'm new to tools and whatnot but I swear I can't be this dumb. I bought a 10 inch craftsman drill press that was on clearance for $30 bucks from $150. I began constructing it a few hours ago and was pretty much done 20 minutes in but the chuck will not go on the spindle no matter what I do.

I have wiped off everything numerous times and since I did not have any acetone on deck, I washed the parts with alcohol free soap and rinsed with water to get rid of the oil and loose particles. When I initially pushed the chuck on the spindle it did not hold whatsoever. I then put a piece of wood under it and hammered upwards and nothing. It does not hold at all.

Could the morse tapers be defective? (It was brand new in the box by the way.)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 09-18-2013, 08:11 AM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
hard to tell over the net without a photo

The parts are new as the came in the box?
The quill has the appropriate taper inside the shaft? Push some modeling clay into the hole and withdraw it slowly. It should have a taper, if not you are SOL and would need a new quill or have that one machined. There was probably a reason it was so cheap.... I donno?
There may be an obstruction in the quill also. Check with a flashlight.

Post a photo of your chuck and the quill if you can.

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)

Last edited by woodnthings; 09-18-2013 at 09:01 AM.
post #3 of 9 Old 09-18-2013, 08:48 AM

View Lilblee's Photo Album My Photos
Seems to me like an obstruction. Does it go in and fall off? Or is it not going in all the way?

Sent from my iPhone using Wood Forum