Drill Press: Best practice switching from metal to wood and back - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 19 Old 02-25-2014, 09:23 AM Thread Starter

View trevarthan's Photo Album My Photos
Question Drill Press: Best practice switching from metal to wood and back

Howdy,

I just bought a Harbor Freight 20" floor standing "production" drill press. After making room for it and bolting it to my concrete floor, I immediately set to work doing some metal drilling that I've been putting off for 6 months due to lack of a drill press. I used oil, so the press's work table is all oily. Now that I'm done, I want to use the drill press for some woodworking projects. I have a small shop, so I'll probably swap back and forth like this once or twice a month.

I used my shop vac to get most of the metal chips out of the work tray, and I wiped it down with paper towels, but I know there is still quite a bit of oil on the table that will transfer to any wood I place there. I'm guessing I need a degreaser of some kind to remove it?

What's the best practice procedure for cleaning up after metal work in preparation for wood work on a drill press? Cleaners? Liners? Technique? Etc.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 02-25-2014, 09:31 AM

View Dave Paine's Photo Album My Photos
I do not know best practice, but in your situation I would make a cover from e.g., MDF to lay across the table for the wood work. Cheap to make and cheap to replace if/when needed.

It will be difficult to continually clean off the oil and residues from the metal work.
post #3 of 19 Old 02-25-2014, 09:34 AM
more bacon?

View Ttharp's Photo Album My Photos
I use to do the same, then one day I ruined a project by contaminating the wood with cutting fluid residue. I swore then that as soon as a could i would get another drill press for wood only. It took a little while but I finally did and now I can even leave dust collection set up on it.