Delta Rockwell 12"- 14" Tilting Arbor Saw - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 3 Old 09-03-2012, 04:44 PM Thread Starter
No Longer Here

View Benny Blanco's Photo Album My Photos
Delta Rockwell 12"- 14" Tilting Arbor Saw

Ah well, I got kicked off awhile because I hurt a childs feelings over the SawStop gizmo.
I will say this about that, and perhaps give another perspective.
I have been a pro machinist since 1968, it not an easy or kind job at times.
The way it is, if you hurt yourself in the machine shop, you are on the way out. You are considered a hazzard not only to youself, but everyone else also.
One will never see anyone admit to getting hurt on the practical machinist site for example, or blame the machine.

Alright, that said, if one is prone to sticking body parts into the business end of machines, do not even consider this saw.

I came to the point of needing a more stable platform to saw with, then a contractors saw.
My wants were, heavy as possible, and still be able to get it through a 31" door, and down a flight of stairs.
A better fence then the POS Jet Lock, and a flat unmolested table.

I looked at 12" saws, including PM 68 and 72, new Grizzly, ect.
The Delta stood out with this feature- changable arbors.
From what I have heard, the Grizzly 12" has this feature, but the Grizzly is just a 10" extreem series modified for 12" blades and only a puny 600 or so pounds. And more then $2500.

With the Biesemeyer fence, blade gaurd/splitter, and rather heavy constructed right table, this 12-14 scaled at just over 950lbs.

This saw was owned by the area Steinway technition,very well taken care of, but has sat for several years after he passed away.
The saw came with many blades of sizes of 12 and 14" including a 12" dado set.
It also came with an Excalibur sliding table attachment, and Excalibur boom type vaccum/blade gaurd, delta tenon jig and much much more.

One thing Delta never made was a 5/8" arbor extension.