Delta JT160 Jointer - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Tool Agnostic

post #1 of 18 Old 09-03-2007, 10:46 PM Thread Starter

View TexasRCFlyer's Photo Album My Photos
Delta JT160 Jointer

My father in law is a master woodworker and I have tried bouncing ideas off of him for building my shop, but he doesnt grasp budget. He is adamant that I should not buy anything but the best or I will be disappointed. I am wanting a jointer for my shop and I am looking at the Delta JT160 which is about $220 at Home Depot. He says that it is too light and I should keep saving and get the DJ20 ($2000). I am a father of a one year old and young. I love woodworking and having the right tools, but even if I had $2000 sitting around for tools, I would buy more than just a jointer. Is this benchtop jointer good for the money or is there a better one? I am a VERY novice woodworker and am starting out remodeling my kitchen by just putting new cabinet doors on (hopefully).

My next purchase will be a better table saw but jointer first.
Any recomendations?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 09-04-2007, 08:29 AM

View rob.hough's Photo Album My Photos
I think you'll find a lot of guys around here that agree with your FIL. I think you should reach a little deeper though. You don't have to spend $2000 to get a decent tool, but I think you'll be wanting to spend a bit more than $200. I would think that $400 would snag you a really nice used jointer. $600-$800 would fetch a nice new jointer. At least one you won't be disgusted with after a few months.
post #3 of 18 Old 09-04-2007, 12:55 PM

View daryl in nanoose's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by rob.hough View Post