Delta 36-725 Build Review - from a newbie - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By jwyant

post #1 of 4 Old 05-12-2016, 08:55 PM Thread Starter

View jwyant's Photo Album My Photos
Delta 36-725 Build Review - from a newbie

Well, this will be quick, but I wanted to provide some feedback on my build of the Delta 36-725. I am not going to get into WHY I picked this TS, but I can say, my first impression…..I LOVE this saw!

Now, there are some things you should know about me. One, I am by no means an expert in ANYTHING woodworking, heck, this is the first table saw I have ever purchased, built and used. If you have seen my other posts, I recently built a mudroom system for my wife, and I was hooked. The craftsmanship, the tools, the accomplishment is what I love.

So, about the saw. I did the research on TS…I was going to buy the Dewalt 7480 but then for a $100 more, I could get a much better solution (long term). So I moved into hybrid type saws…and it was between the delta 36-725 or the Rigid R4512. The most important feature for me was the fence and its accuracy. Long story short, the Delta won.

Off to Youtube I went watching assembly videos, what the heck did I get myself into…..I mean it seemed like there were no assembly videos that did not curse or complain about the crazy build instructions and how much of a PITA it was to get the rails and fence system correct. Here are the 2 that really helped me:

BEST (IMO):
You will have to not care about some language…but its really good.
Close 2nd:

Now that I am done, the build was not as bad as I thought it was going to be. Yea, the quality is not GREAT, but for me, it was great. I dont mind getting something cheaper and sacrifice in quality a bit, especially since it is my first table saw. The rail system was not that hard to do. What worked for me was the following:

-Loosely bolted the front rails to the cast iron top (did not install the stamped sides)