Delta 14" Bandsaw motor - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 18 Old 10-20-2015, 12:57 PM Thread Starter

View Flynman's Photo Album My Photos
Delta 14" Bandsaw motor

Hello Everyone!! I am a New member here on the forum!! I am a guitar builder/Repairman and a Novice woodworker. I have a question about a Delta 14" Bandsaw with 12" riser kit installed. I wanted to use the saw to re-saw Figured Maple boards approx. 8" wide and 1" thick. I have a 1/2 hp motor and a 1/2" and 3/4" Woodslicer blade 3Tpi on the setup right now. Although I am feeding the board very slow the saw keeps bogging down. I was wondering if putting on a larger motor like a 1 1/2 - 2 hp would be possible? I saw a 1 1/2 hp motor at harbor freight and was wondering if it''s possible to do this?

thanks,
Keith R

Last edited by Flynman; 10-20-2015 at 01:42 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 10-20-2015, 02:20 PM

View FrankC's Photo Album My Photos
The motor on any belt driven saw can be changed, if you can match the base and shaft size it is relatively simple.
Many of the less expensive motors are rated as compressor duty, they will not last long on a saw where they will be running for long periods at a time.

“Everything we hear is an opinion, not a fact. Everything we see is a perspective, not the truth.”
― Marcus Aurelius
FrankC
http://sawdustmaking.com
post #3 of 18 Old 10-27-2015, 07:30 PM

View Bob Vaughan's Photo Album My Photos
If you're using a household wall socket, no motor over 15 amps should used and even 15 amps is pushing it. If you can use a 240 volt single phase outlet, then a 10 amp motor at 240 volts will work well.

Motor horsepower ratings get generous these days, particularly with Asian import motors. I've seen 13 amp motors "listed" as 1-1/2 HP motors, so be careful. 13 amp motors used to be rated at 1 HP. Naturally, motor speed will have to be 1750 rpm.

For sure, a big wide blade takes more HP to get it turning than a 1/4" wide blade.