Craftsman Jointer Problem - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 10 Old 10-24-2015, 08:50 AM Thread Starter

View Zilbub's Photo Album My Photos
Craftsman Jointer Problem

I got my Dad's old Craftsman 6" Jointer and have a problem I hope you can help with. The knives are good and sharp and whatever I joint, works great until I get to the last inch or so of the piece. The jointer then takes an extra 1/16" of wood from what I am plaining. I have made sure I am applying pressure to the forward half of the piece so that the end of the wood does not dip into the knives and it still takes extra wood from the last inch.

I have never used a jointer before so can you tell me what I am doing before I ruin anymore pieces of good lumber?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 10-24-2015, 09:50 AM

View punkin611's Photo Album My Photos
table would
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zilbub View Post
I got my Dad's old Craftsman 6" Jointer and have a problem I hope you can help with. The knives are good and sharp and whatever I joint, works great until I get to the last inch or so of the piece. The jointer then takes an extra 1/16" of wood from what I am plaining. I have made sure I am applying pressure to the forward half of the piece so that the end of the wood does not dip into the knives and it still takes extra wood from the last inch.

I have never used a jointer before so can you tell me what I am doing before I ruin anymore pieces of good lumber?
I would say your outfeed table is LOWER than your infeed table
post #3 of 10 Old 10-24-2015, 10:37 AM

View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
Have you used a known straight edge to check that the infeed and outfeed tables are parallel to each other? Have you checked to ensure that the knives are set so that they are even with (or one paper thickness above) the outfeed table. My Craftsman manual specifies the one paper thickness while others call for even.