Cool Blocks - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 5Likes
  • 1 Post By RonBenson
  • 2 Post By JayArr
  • 2 Post By RonBenson

post #1 of 14 Old 03-26-2020, 07:05 PM Thread Starter

View RonBenson's Photo Album My Photos
Cool Blocks

I bought the wrong size blocks for my ~ 40 YO Craftsman band saw. They are ~ 1/8" too big in width and height. Is there any reason I shouldn't sand them to size on my belt sander?
Thanx ~ Ron
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 03-26-2020, 08:24 PM

View John Smith_inFL's Photo Album My Photos
Ron - it will still work as intended - some people actually use
a hardwood, such as oak for blocks.
as long as you can get a good fit in the holder, you will be good.

I'm not sure, but, I think I have a pack of the cool blocks for the
old vintage Craftsman 12" BS. I will check tomorrow.

I am a painter: that's what I do, I like to paint things.

Last edited by John Smith_inFL; 03-26-2020 at 08:27 PM.
post #3 of 14 Old 03-26-2020, 10:34 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
I used to have an older Craftsman 12" bandsaw

Quote:
Originally Posted by RonBenson View Post
I bought the wrong size blocks for my ~ 40 YO Craftsman band saw. They are ~ 1/8" too big in width and height. Is there any reason I shouldn't sand them to size on my belt sander?
Thanx ~ Ron

If I recall, those blade guides held round hardened steel guides. I'm sure they made different guides for different saws and, yours may be the square ones. Those would be the only ones you could sand down to size. This video shows the round ones:

This company offers blade guides in ceramic, much harder material than a typical cool block:
https://spaceageceramics.com/?gclid=...oaApLmEALw_wcB

These are the more common 1/2" square blocks. They are made of a high tech, non-metallic composite material, graphite impregnated phenolic laminate:
https://www.homedepot.com/p/Olson-Sa...B&gclsrc=aw.ds