Buying a used table saw. Thoughts on this one? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 3Likes

post #1 of 27 Old 04-13-2018, 01:21 PM Thread Starter

View lem73's Photo Album My Photos
Buying a used table saw. Thoughts on this one?

I'm not new to woodworking, but this is my first time buying a table saw. Just looking to get a used one to do basic things with. Previously I used a Delta contractor saw (Unifence, open frame stand) in a former neighbor's shop. Between the belt drive, large work surface, and the incredible Unifence, I loved it!

Anyway, this Craftsman is available down the road for $100. New 1hp motor. No fence, but I will be putting a different one on it anyway. Thoughts? He said he is getting rid of it because he is not using it often enough to justify the space it takes up.

Would there be a downside to going with a common benchtop saw instead? See...albeit larger, I like the idea of a more robust saw like this with a larger work surface, longer miter gauge tracks, and a more powerful motor and belt drive. I do not need to tote the saw around, so this Craftsman would be fine from a size perspective. I do not want anything larger or heavier, though! Whether benchtop or this, I would probably build it into a slightly larger, rolling workstation to expand the worksurface.

If this is a good find, what specifically should I look for when I go inspect it?

Thanks in advance for the advice!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	saw 1.jpg
Views:	157
Size:	86.8 KB
ID:	355690  

Name:	saw 2.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	104.4 KB
ID:	355698  

Name:	saw 3.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	56.6 KB
ID:	355706  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 Old 04-13-2018, 02:31 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos