Buying a Table Saw - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 26 Old 02-19-2009, 04:12 AM Thread Starter

View JayL's Photo Album My Photos
Buying a Table Saw

Hi to all.

I'm a newbie woodworker who had been lurking around the forum for sometime now. I am ready to get myself a table saw and had currently zeroed in on the Ridgid TS2410LS. My concern is that wood shop space is a bit of a premium but I could still accommodate say a Ridgid TS3660.

Am a losing a lot of capabilities by choosing the portable saw or probably I should be looking at another saw. My budget is $500.

Thank you so much in advance for your comments and insights.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 Old 02-19-2009, 08:04 AM

View knotscott's Photo Album My Photos
Aside from portability, a full size cast iron saw like the 3660 has every advantage. The belt drive induction motor is quieter and runs smoother and will have more torque, the table surface is much larger...especially in front of the blade, it'll have considerably more mass which makes it more stable and safer. A full size saw will also accommodate many aftermarket accessories, including many parts from other brand saws...wings, fence, miter, motor, etc. A full size saw will also have better longevity and higher resale value. The 3660 in particular has been on sale for $400 as their clear the way for the new Ridgid R4511...$400 is a great price and they've been selling out fast, but if you call around your area TODAY, someone may still have one...they may even be willing to send one from another store. The Delta 36-980 with T2 fence is also worth considering.

The R4511 hybrid is well worth a look at $600. It has the motor inside the enclosure which takes up less space and has a shorter drive belt, has better dust collection, much more mass (450# vs 287#), steel fence, granite top, riving knife, and larger handwheels.