Bosch 1617EVSPK router help - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By woodnthings
  • 1 Post By woodnthings

post #1 of 12 Old 07-11-2017, 12:38 AM Thread Starter

View dws780's Photo Album My Photos
Bosch 1617EVSPK router help

I finally got my router and router table(Bosch RA1181) setup, both are brand new so it's my first time using it. Also have a whiteside bit on it. When I try to do a test piece on a 1x3 it pull my 1x3 and so hard that the wood fly out of my hand (this is on speed 4) then I try to do a second test and set speed to 1 and it kinda have similar result but doesn't pull as hard. Was not able to route the wood at all. This is dangerous. I didn't even push the wood fast I did it very slow too. I only try to route like 1/4" of that 1x3. Can someone tell me what I did wrong?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 07-11-2017, 01:20 AM
Ole Woodworker

View BigJim's Photo Album My Photos
Sounds like you are feeding the wood in from the wrong side. If you don't have a fence then you need a pin for the wood to rest against then ease the wood into the bit slowly. Another thing is you could be trying to take more of a bit than you should. A heavy profile must be made in several passes, not all at once.

http://www.diychatroom.com/
The Other
BigJim

If you do what you've always done, you will get what you've always got.
post #3 of 12 Old 07-11-2017, 01:31 AM Thread Starter

I did feed it on the wrong side on my first attempt :(
But not the second time. I also try it feeding it against the fence and flat on the table with an feather board just can't get a smooth cut period. The bit I use is a round over. When you said several passes do I do incremental on the cut like from 1/4", 1/2" and 3/4" and so on?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 12 Old 07-11-2017, 07:30 AM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos