Best starter router/router table - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 20 Old 10-11-2010, 08:28 AM Thread Starter

View schtoom's Photo Album My Photos
Question Best starter router/router table

I'm relatively new to woodworking and know that a router and router table can be invaluable. Since I'm just getting started I wanted to get something that could do the small box-making projects that I'm interested in. Primarily I'd be using the router and table to do dadoes, joints (box, mainly), and edging. I'm also unsure what features I think I might need but really don't and vice versa.

Can anyone recommend a good table for $200 or less? I've read lots of reviews for lots of tables and I can't seem to find one that screams "I'm the right one!". If you have advice for a specific router to go with the table please don't be shy.

Also, I'm thinking about purchasing the Rockler router table box joint jig. Is this a solid purchase or are there better premade box joint jigs out there?

Many thanks in advance!

Ben
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 10-11-2010, 09:02 AM
SS user

View Gene Howe's Photo Album My Photos
Router tables need not be fancy or have a lot of bells and whistles.
Suggest you take a look at "The Router Workshop" videos to see a minimalist approach. They do some great stuff with a piece of laminate covered MDF and a strip of UHMW for a fence.
Use your cash for a good router, good bits, and (possibly) a good lift.
post #3 of 20 Old 10-11-2010, 09:31 AM

View del schisler's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by schtoom View Post
I'm relatively new to woodworking and know that a router and router table can be invaluable. Since I'm just getting started I wanted to get something that could do the small box-making projects that I'm interested in. Primarily I'd be using the router and table to do dadoes, joints (box, mainly), and edging. I'm also unsure what features I think I might need but really don't and vice versa.