7Likes
  • 3 Post By Toolman50
  • 2 Post By subroc
  • 1 Post By Steve Neul
  • 1 Post By intense21

post #1 of 15 Old 10-17-2017, 02:26 PM Thread Starter

View Joe Loera's Photo Album My Photos
Post Beginner here be kind =oP

Where do you recommend to get tools ? Online, store,used,new,pros,cons,warranties,companies tool/retail and anything else you think a beginner should know ???
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 10-17-2017, 03:48 PM

View Toolman50's Photo Album My Photos
As you read the post on the forum you find our members have bought tools from all your list above.
I personally will not pay extra for an extended warranty. Good tools will last for many years trouble free if not abused and kept dry. Most woodworking machinery are very simple tools made to give many years of service. Because of this, I have had very good experiences with used tools. As a rule of thumb I think a good used tool should be about half price vs a new tool.
There are new brands available now with lifetime warranties.

If you don't have time to do it right the first time, when will you have time to do it over?
post #3 of 15 Old 10-20-2017, 04:34 PM

View KennK's Photo Album My Photos
For power tools I've purchased mostly reconditioned tools. They are pretty much like new and much lower cost. I don't really care if there is a tiny minor scratch or two since I'll put a few on myself.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 15 Old 10-20-2017, 05:02 PM
Interested Observer

View subroc's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Loera View Post
Where do you recommend to get tools ? Online, store,used,new,pros,cons,warranties,companies tool/retail and anything else you think a beginner should know ???
A lifetime of experience in a forum question.

Buying tools can be simple or complex.

Some simple questions right back at you might be do you have any money?

Are you trying to put a functional shop together with a limited budget?