Bandsaw Questions - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 01-23-2016, 10:59 AM Thread Starter

View TwoRails's Photo Album My Photos
Bandsaw Questions

I'm totally new to bandsaws. I recently purchased the biggest one that I could afford and that will fit in my little storage shack that doubles as a very small work shop: a 10" Craftsman Model 21400.

I have about 20 minutes using it before I realized I needed to learn a lot more, so I watched a ton of YouTube videos on how to set it up, use it, and various projects. And that I need more than just the one blade it came with.

So I now have a few more blades. But the instructions with one blade says that you should Not recoil blades after use. It seems, from the videos I've watched, that a lot people keep their spare blades coiled up. Heck, I don't even have room to hang them anywhere uncoiled.

So my question on this is: is it OK or not to coil up used blades?

Also, most of the videos recommend to release blade tension after use. I'm use to being able to just grab a saw and use it. Having to setup the blade each time -- tracking, tension, blade guides, etc. -- seems like a lot of work just to make a couple quick cuts.

My question on this is how import is it to release tension after each use? Is there a time limit, as in can it stay tensioned all weekend? A week? Just one day?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 01-23-2016, 11:04 AM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
wives tails..... foohey

I have the same saw and I don't release the tension after use. I "recoil" the blades when they are not in use. You have to coil them properly to reduce the strain on the welds. I've never had a blade break while I was coiling back up.... foohey.... don't believe all of what you see on the web, you didn't, so you asked here for advice.