arm saw motor hums - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 5 Old 09-27-2019, 12:18 PM Thread Starter
mitt_ens

View jmayo's Photo Album My Photos
arm saw motor hums

(just some context, I am a high school student with no job, drivers license, car, or money)
my Dewalt 7749 radial arm saw belonged to my grandfather. it worked at first but after my parents brought it from my grandparents to our house,( a 3 hour, 170-mile drive one way) I had to take the saw apart to clean it (it sat for 30+ years inside a barn/workshop that was built in the 70s)

now it just hums and doesn't rotate when you turn it on. I can't separate the stator and rotor from the frontal motor housing because I can't get a bearing of the rotor at the back end of the motor.

I don't have a bearing puller and I think the motor brake is keeping the rotor from turning so I will take any tips on how to remove the bearing or even tips on how to fix the motor without taking the stator and rotor off
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 09-28-2019, 11:14 AM

View DrRobert's Photo Album My Photos
Check over on the vintage machine forum. owwm.org
Aside from that take it to an electric motor shop.

I know that there is a centrifugal brake on some motors, but I doubt on this one. But my knowledge is limited.
post #3 of 5 Old 09-28-2019, 11:38 AM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
I took one apart here....

This one was a Craftsman and without any photos of your it's difficult to know what to advise you to do. Typically when a motor just hums it needs a starting capacitor. See You Tube for more information.

https://www.woodworkingtalk.com/f12/...rebuild-35737/

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 5 Old 09-28-2019, 03:19 PM
CharleyL