Another TS thread - Steel City 35990C vs. Craftsman 21833 - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 17 Old 10-25-2011, 02:55 PM Thread Starter
Mauling Maple Since 1998

View mikeintexas's Photo Album My Photos
Another TS thread - Steel City 35990C vs. Craftsman 21833

Hello everyone,

Yep, another table saw thread...but I've tried to be very specific vs. "I think I want a table saw and my budget is $100...help!"

A little about me: I am an amature woodworker...and that's being generous. I have built bookshelves, picture frames and tons of speaker boxes. I know how to use a TS, router, sanders and a planer. That's it on the experience.

While I'm buying my first table saw, as stated, I've got some experience with woodworking tools. I've used the Wood Shops on base for many years and have gotten used to "real tablesaws." Monster-size Jet/Delta/etc saws with 5-foot tables in all directions have spoiled me. Now that I have a house, I'm setting up my own shop. Buying used is not an option; I like return policies and warranties. Being that I don't personally know anyone selling a TS and can't vouch for how they care for their tools, used is out.

I first looked at contractor table saws. They rattle around too much. Portable contractor TS's are too flimsy and I cannot afford a $2K cabinet TS. So, I'm looking at mid-level saws (Hybrid saws?). 120v variety only. Wheels are a must as the garage is small.

My original budget was $500, but I quickly realized how much more you get for a little more. The Steel City at $877 shipped (Amazon) blows my budget big-time, but you get what you pay for. I don't want to buy another TS...ever, basically.

I've narrowed it down to the Steel City 35990C http://www.steelcitytoolworks.com/pr...12&tool=35990C

and the Craftsman 21833 http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_1...ABTestAvl=true