Air compressor or not? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 13 Old 01-24-2012, 03:27 PM Thread Starter

View Raptor22's Photo Album My Photos
Air compressor or not?

Hi all. New to this site, lots of interesting discussions.

I'm a beginner woodworker/weekend DIY'er. I don't own a lot of tools, only power drill, jig saw, circular saw, sander, router and a cool looking jaw horse. I am considering getting a nail gun as I'm building a kids bed (Thomas Train style) and screws are just too big for some of the curves/bends. To my surprise (ignorance), there's no such a thing as electric nailer - except those with gas cartridge. I saw some of the manual staplers can shoot brad nails too - but I'm not sure if they can even penetrate a half inch plywood and sink in.

So I'm contemplating whether I should get a compressor and a nailer. The question is, is compressor essential for occasional woodworking? What else can I use it with down the road?

Cheers
Rap
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 01-24-2012, 03:33 PM
Thumb Nailer

View dbhost's Photo Album My Photos
A bigger compressor is better than a smaller one, but you don't need a monster. I have a 2HP 8 gallon compressor that is okay for everything I do. I would like a bigger compressor, but there is a difference between want, and need. Even if I could, I wouldn't want to go over 30 gallons just for space sake...

I use my compressor for driving nail guns, blowing up tires (BIG 4x4 tires), blow guns, spraying, impact wrench etc...

Long story short, a compressor is VERY useful. But the smaller the compressor, the less useful it is... (I personally would steer clear of those little 3 gallon pancake compressors...)

Interested in my woodworking, workshop and whatnot? See http://daves-workshop.blogspot.com, want to see my other interests such as hunting, fishing, off roading, and camping? See http://wildersport-outdoors.blogspot.com
post #3 of 13 Old 01-24-2012, 04:15 PM