Advice needed on best tool to use for my project - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 4Likes
  • 1 Post By woodnthings
  • 1 Post By Lenny Howard
  • 1 Post By woodnthings
  • 1 Post By Chamfer

post #1 of 16 Old 03-27-2016, 08:51 AM Thread Starter

View greenwillow's Photo Album My Photos
Arrow Advice needed on best tool to use for my project

Hi. Newbie here:
A while back, I built a rustic bookshelf using (what I call) egg crate cuts and a jigsaw. It was such a success, the buyer of our home asked for them in the sale.

Now, my spouse wants the same thing in the new house, only more and bigger. Cutting all those quarter inch slots with a jig saw is going to be slow, so I'm trying to figure out which power tool would be the best to purchase to do the work more quickly and accurately.

I'm on a budget and probably will be looking for a something used and with no big learning curve.

Finally, the shelves don't have to be great furniture, but they do need to be sturdy. I'll be painting them. Is there some type of wood less expensive than oak that someone might suggest I use?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bookshelf.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	96.2 KB
ID:	226281  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 03-27-2016, 11:08 AM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Did you mean 3/4" slots, not 1/4"?

I'd use a router, rather than a jig saw. however a jig saw just inside the lines will remove most of the material leaving the final clean up for the router. A hand held circ saw will do the same, but I'd use a right angle guide and NOT saw right up to the half way point. Leave some for the jig saw to nibble away and clean up with a chisel.
greenwillow likes this.

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)

Last edited by woodnthings; 03-27-2016 at 11:12 AM.